Algo 2005
  Invited speakers

Algorithmic meThods and Models for Optimization of railwayS

Mallorca, Spain, October 7, 2005


Efficient solution of railway optimization problems require a coordinated interdisciplinary effort from various areas in mathematical optimization and theoretical computer science, including graph and network algorithms, theory of computation, approximation algorithms, combinatorial optimization, and algorithm engineering.

The goal of the workshop is to provide a forum for the exchange and dissemination of new ideas, techniques, and research in the field of railway optimization. In particular, the workshop is meant to bring together researchers from the above areas interested in ALL aspects of algorithmic methods and models for railway optimization, including the development of efficient algorithms, experimental studies, and useful prototype implementations.

ATMOS takes place for the fifth time. ATMOS 2005 will be part of ALGO 2005.


Papers are solicited in all aspects of algorithmic methods and models for railway optimization problems including (but not limited to):

  • Infrastructure Planning
  • Line Planning
  • Time Table Generation
  • Time Table Information
  • Delay Management
  • Design of Tariff Systems
  • Rolling Stock Planning
  • Rolling Stock Rescheduling
  • Maintenance and Shunting of Rolling Stock
  • Railway Crew Scheduling and Rostering
  • Simulation Tools


Authors are invited to submit a full paper (max 15 pages) by e-mail, including their fax number and e-mail address to moehring-> or lkroon-> (please change -> with @) The paper must be received by June 5, 2005. Authors will be sent a notification of acceptance or rejection by email after July 19, 2005.


We will try to get the proceedings published in the series 'Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science'. A final copy of each accepted paper is required by October 31, 2005.

Program Committee

  • Leen Stougie (TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands)
  • Leon Peeters (ETHZ, Switzerland)
  • Robert Firla (DB, Germany)
  • Leo Kroon (NS Reizigers, Utrecht, The Netherlands)
  • Rolf Moehring (TU Berlin, Germany)
  • Alberto Marchetti-Spaccamela (Uni. Rome, Italy)
  • Niklas Kohl (DSB, Denmark)
  • Uwe Zimmermann (TU Braunschweig, Germany)

Invited Speakers

Frank Geraets (aka Frank Wagner)